Terminal Services  «Prev  Next»

Lesson 2 Exploring new protocols
Objective Describe New protocols that Windows supports.

Exploring New Protocols

Microsoft Windows NT version 4.0 supports several authentication protocols for verifying the credentials of users who are connecting to the network. These protocols include:
  1. Password Authentication Protocol (PAP)
  2. Challenge Handshake Authentication Protocol (CHAP)
  3. Microsoft Challenge Handshake Authentication Protocol (MS-CHAP)
  4. Shiva Password Authentication Protocol (SPAP)
  5. Point-to-point Tunneling Protocol
You are familiar with these protocols from your experience using the Remote Access Service in Windows , PAP, CHAP, MS-CHAP, and Shiva are all link authentication protocols. Keep in mind as your work though the following discussion that these authentication protocols only validate your user account with a Remote Access Server and allow you access to that server. These protocols alone will not assure protection of your data. The Point-to-Point Tunneling Protocol (PPTP) provides tunneling capabilities. The Point-to-Point tunneling protocol can protect your data as it moves through either a public or private network. We'll discuss PPTP, the new tunneling protocol L2TP, and L2TP's combination with IPSec later in this module, and explain how they enable data security across the wire.

New Protocols in Windows 10

Windows 2000 supports the following and several additional protocols that increase your authentication, encryption, and multilink options. Familiarity with the benefits and limitations of these protocols helps you leverage their capabilities. Familiarity with the benefits and limitations of the protocols supported by Windows 2000 will help you leverage their capabilities. Windows 2000 supports the following, and several additional, protocols that increase your authentication, encryption, and multilink options:
  1. Extensible Authentication Protocol (EAP)
  2. Remote Authentication Dial-in User Service (RADIUS)
  3. Internet Protocol Security (IPSec)
  4. Layer Two Tunneling Protocol (L2TP)
  5. Bandwidth Allocation Protocol (BAP)

Let's take a closer look at each of these protocols, beginning with EAP.